Error 126 when connecting SPSS Modeler to Netezza using 64bit ODBC driver

I installed IBM SPSS Modeler 14.1 today and the first thing I wanted to do was to connect it to Netezza and compare performance: in-database analytics and without.

It didn’t take long for me to run into my first issue — though not a serious one and very easily resolved.  I attempted to setup a new database source using an existing Netezza ODBC connection.  The error string was:

Failed to connect to data source admin@TwinFin6

IM003[160] Specified driver could not be loaded due to system error 126: The specified module could not be found. (NetezzaSQL, C:\Windows\SysWOW64\nsqlodbc.dll).

Failed to connect to datasource: TwinFin6;UID=admin;PWD=*****

Interesting, I knew I had installed the 64bit ODBC driver but I did confirm that nsqlodbc.dll was not present in SysWOW64 and only in C:\windows\system32.  I reran my Netezza ODBC installation and was careful to select the option to install both the 32- and 64-bit versions of the driver.  Only when I did this did the driver’s DLL find its way into SysWow64 and allowed me to connect SPSS to Netezza.

This entry was posted in analytics, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

